How to use this resource

The atlas consists of four publications:

    • Summary – outlines generalised insights about the structural elements of the ten key systems that influence early childhood development outcomes


    • Part 1: Child’s Needs – contains chapters dedicated to each of the five systems that are focused primarily on meeting a child’s needs


    • Part 2: Shared Child and Family Needs – contains chapters dedicated to each of the five systems that are focused on meeting shared child and family needs


    • Annex 1 – provides a brief introduction to how government works in Australia which underpins the structural elements of our early years system.


Part 1 and Part 2 including the individual chapters dedicated to each of the ten systems in focus may be read in any order according to the readers’ interests.

Download Atlas Publications

Landscape Atlas


  • Introduction
  • How to use this Atlas
  • Observations from the Atlas
  • What else does the Atlas tell us about the ‘current state’?
  • How far are we from the ‘desired future state’?

Landscape Atlas

Part One Child's Needs

  • Health
  • Mental health
  • Disability
  • Early learning
  • Child protection

Landscape Atlas

Part Two Shared Child and Family Needs

  • Parenting & family supports
  • Family & domestic violence supports
  • Social security
  • Secure and affordable housing
  • Safe, healthy physical and built environments

Landscape Atlas

Annex 1 How Government Works Australian Style'

  • Australia’s Federal Structure
  • The levels of government
  • The division of responsibilities
  • Collaborations across government
  • Accountability mechanisms
  • The laws that underpin Australia’s ECD System

Search Jala Design Static Framework